Fourth-Seeded Xavier to Face No. 5 Temple in 2008 A-10 Volleyball Championship



Nov. 17, 2008

Philadelphia, PA - The field of six is set for the 27th annual Atlantic 10 Women's Volleyball Championship, which commences on Friday, Nov. 21, at Chaifetz Arena on the campus of Saint Louis. No. 1-seeded Saint Louis, No. 2 Dayton, No. 3 George Washington, No. 4 Xavier, No. 5 Temple and No. 6 Fordham will compete for an automatic berth in the 2008 NCAA Volleyball Championship.

Saint Louis (24-4/13-0), ranked 20th nationally, swept the league competition going 13-0 and is the first program to go undefeated in A-10 regular season play since 1997. The Billikens earned their second regular season title since joining the league in 2005 and are looking to win their second Championship.

Dayton (20-10/11-2) gets the second seed after posting the next best record in the league with an 11-2 ledger in A-10 play. A member of the A-10 West Division, both Dayton’s A-10 losses came at the hands of nationally-ranked Saint Louis. The Flyers will be defending their A-10 Championship title this weekend and have won four of the last five Championships. The top two seeds earned a bye in the first round of the Championship.

George Washington (18-9/10-4) garnered the A-10 East Division regular season title with a division-best 9-4 record and will be the third seed. The Colonials have four A-10 titles overall and are looking to take home the hardware for the first time since 2000.

Xavier (15-13/8-5) grabbed the fourth seed with an 8-5 mark in the West Division. The Musketeers hope to win their second-ever Championship title after winning their only title in 2001.

Temple (15-13/6-7) and Fordham (18-15/6-7) round out the field as the fifth and sixth seeds, respectively. Both share the same 6-7 record in the East Division, however, Temple earned the higher seed due to the league’s tiebreaker policy. This is Temple’s thirteenth consecutive appearance in the Championship with three titles under its belt, while the Rams are making their third-straight appearance and looking for their first-ever title.



Fordham will face George Washington in the opening round on Friday, Nov. 21, at 5:30 pm (CT), followed by Temple versus Xavier at 8:00 pm (CT).

The first round winners will meet the top seeds, Saint Louis and Dayton, in the semifinals on Saturday, Nov. 22, beginning at 5:30 pm (CT). The Championship match will be played on Sunday, Nov. 23 at 1:00 pm (CT).

Tickets to the Atlantic 10 Women's Volleyball Championship will be available at the Chaifetz Arena ticket office the day of the matches. A single day ticket may be purchased for $6 for adults or $3 for A-10 students, children 18 and under, and senior citizens. A three-day pass is available for $15 for adults.

Chaifetz Arena – Practice Pavilion, St. Louis, Mo.
Friday, November 21
Match #1 5:30 pm (CT) #3 George Washington vs. #6 Fordham
Match #2 8:00 pm (CT) #4 Xavier vs. #5 Temple
Saturday, November 22
Match #3 5:30 pm (CT) #2 Dayton vs. Highest remaining seed
Match #4 8:00 pm (CT) #1 Saint Louis vs. Lowest remaining seed
Sunday, November 23
Match #5 1:00 pm (CT) Winner Match #3 vs. Winner Match #4