Field Set For 28th Annual Atlantic 10 Volleyball Championship

Senior Kelly Ruth

Senior Kelly Ruth

Nov. 16, 2009

Championship Central | Championship Bracket | XU Match Notes

PHILADELPHIA - The field of six is set for the 28th annual Atlantic 10 Women's Volleyball Championship, which commences on Friday, Nov. 20, at Frericks Center on the campus of the University of Dayton. Top-seeded Dayton, No. 2 Saint Louis, No. 3 Xavier, No. 4 Temple, No. 5 George Washington and No. 6 Charlotte will compete for an automatic berth in the 2009 NCAA Volleyball Championship.

Dayton (26-3/14-1) finished the season at 14-1 along side Saint Louis, however, earned the top seed after defeating the Billikens, 3-2, during regular season play. The Flyers earned their seventh regular season title and are looking to win their fifth Championship in seven years.

Xavier (19-11/11-4) grabbed the third seed with an 11-4  mark in A-10 play. The Musketeers hope to win their second-ever Championship title after winning their only title in 2001.

George Washington (21-11/8-7) and Charlotte (15-16/6-9) round out the field as the fifth and sixth seeds, respectively. The Colonials have five A-10 titles overall and are looking to take home the hardware for the first time since 2000. The 49ers are making their third appearance in the tournament and are looking for their first-ever title.

Xavier will face Charlotte in the opening round on Friday, Nov. 20, at 5:00 pm (EST), followed by Temple versus George Washington at 7:30 pm (EST). The first round winners will meet the top seeds, Dayton and Saint Louis, in the semifinals on Saturday, Nov. 21, beginning at 5:00 pm (EST). The Championship match will be played on Sunday, Nov. 22 at 4:00 pm (EST).  

The title match of the 2009 Atlantic 10 Volleyball Championship will air live on CBS College Sports.

Tickets to the Atlantic 10 Women's Volleyball Championship will be available at the Frericks Center ticket office the day of the matches. A single day ticket may be purchased for $6 for adults or $3 for A-10 students, children 18 and under, and senior citizens. A three-day pass is available for $15 for adults.



Frericks Center, Dayton, Ohio

Friday, November 20
Match #1 5:00 pm #3 Xavier vs. #6 Charlotte
Match #2 7:30 pm #4 Temple vs. #5 George Washington
Saturday, November 21
Match #3 5:00 pm #1 Dayton vs. Lowest remaining seed
Match #4 7:30 pm #2 Saint Louis vs. Highest remaining seed
Sunday, November 22
Match #5 4:00 pm Winner Match #3 vs. Winner Match #4*

*Championship match to air on CBS College Sports

All times EST