Alkire, Brinker Win Milwaukee Tennis Classic Doubles Championship

Kally Alkire and Alex Brinker won the doubles championship.

Kally Alkire and Alex Brinker won the doubles championship.

Sept. 16, 2012


FOX POINT, Wis. - The final day of the Milwaukee Tennis Classic resulted in a doubles championship for senior Kally Alkire and freshman Alex Brinker as well as a singles runner-up for sophomore Daniella Patton.

Alkire and Brinker scored an 8-3 win over Jill Pastunink and Kathleen Hawkins from Western Michigan. In addition to her singles performance Patton joined junior Andrea Wolf for an 8-3 doubles victory over Caroline Aleck and Nini Sujashvili.

Patton won her singles match 6-2, 6-2 over Detroit's Raina Halabi. It was her third-straight victory of the weekend.

Junior Ally Westling pulled out a come-from-behind (2-6, 6-3, 1-0 (10-4)) victory over Chloe Karoub for the only other singles victory of the day for Xavier. Alkire was close to also earning a singles victory but eventually fell to Julia Fernandes, 6-3, 1-6, 1-0 (10-8).

The Musketeers head to the two-day Bowling Green Invitational that begins on Friday.

Women's Singles vs. Detroit
Nino Sujashvili (UDM) def. Alexandra Brinker (XU), 2-6, 6-0, 1-0 (10-7)
Daniella Patton (XU) def. Raina Halabi (UDM), 6-2, 6-2
Valeryia Kulikouskaya (UDM) def. Andrea Wolf (XU), 6-1, 6-2
Julia Fernandes (UDM) def. Kally Alkire (XU), 6-3, 1-6, 1-0 (10-8)
Elena Strakhova (UDM) def. Lizzie Oosterbaan (XU), 6-2, 6-3
Ally Westling (XU) def. Chloe Karoub (UDM), 2-6, 6-3, 1-0 (10-4)

Women's Doubles vs. Western Michigan
Kally Alkire/Alexandra Brinker (XU) def. Jill Pastunink/Kathleen Hawkins (WMU), 8-3
Daniella Patton/Andrea Wolf (XU) def. Caroline Aleck/Nini Sujashvili (WMU), 8-3
Maggie Remynse/Kelsey King (WMU) def. Lizzie Oosterbaan/Ally Westling (XU), 8-5



Women's Singles Champion: Nino Sujashvili (UDM)
Women's Singles Runner-up: Daniella Patton (XU)
Women's Doubles Champion: Kally Alkire/Alexanda Brinker (XU)
Women's Doubles Runner-up: Elena Strakhova/Valeryia Kulikouskaya (UDM)
Mulcahy Sportsmanship Award: Logon Collins (MU) and Rocio Diaz (MU)