Xavier Well Represented On Atlantic 10 Commissioner's Honor Roll

Xavier placed 83 student-athletes on the 2012 Spring Commissioner's Honor Roll.

Xavier placed 83 student-athletes on the 2012 Spring Commissioner's Honor Roll.

July 11, 2012

A-10 Commissioner's Honor Roll (PDF)

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.—The Atlantic 10 Conference set a record Wednesday, with 1,369 student-athletes earning Commissioner's Honor Roll distinction for the Spring 2012 semester. Xavier was well represented with 83 Musketeers being named to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

The 1,369 honorees is the highest number of student-athletes to achieve the distinction since prior to 2007, making it the most during Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade’s tenure. It eclipsed the previous record of 1,359 set during the Fall 2011 semester. It marks the third straight semester, the total number of honorees has surpassed 1,300 and topped the previous semester.

“Academic success is one of the hallmarks of our Conference, stated Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade. Our number of honorees continues to rise each semester, proving that our student-athletes, already incredibly successful in the classroom, continually strive for improvements. I commend them on their hard work, dedication and achievements.”

To be listed on the Commissioner's Honor Roll, a student-athlete in an Atlantic 10-sponsored sport must have a 3.5 GPA or better (on a 4.0 scale) during the specified semester. Freshmen are eligible to receive the award.

Out of the 241 total teams in 21 A-10 sponsored sports, 232 of them had at least one student-athlete named to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll. Seven of the fourteen member institutions (Charlotte, Dayton, Duquesne, George Washington, Richmond, Saint Joseph’s, Saint Louis) had all of their A-10 sponsored sports represented in their honor roll list.

Additionally, this year’s honorees represent a balance in academic year. There were 368 honor roll members in the most recent freshman class, 346 sophomores, 290 juniors and 349 in the senior class (including fifth-year seniors). There were also 17 graduate student-athletes represented on the list.



About the A-10: The Atlantic 10 Conference was formed in 1976. Currently comprised of 16 member institutions and sponsoring 21 championship sports, the mission and goal of the Atlantic 10 is to preserve, protect, and enhance the academic and athletic pursuits of the membership. The conference is committed to integrity, educational excellence and providing quality equitable championship experiences for more than 6,000 student-athletes, coaches, and support staff. The member institutions of the Atlantic 10 are Butler University, the University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, University of Massachusetts, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph's University, Saint Louis University, Temple University, Virginia Commonwealth University, and Xavier University.