Maddison Blackwell Earns BIG EAST All-Freshman Team Honors

Freshman Maddison Blackwell was the lone Muskteteer to earn postseason honors.

Freshman Maddison Blackwell was the lone Muskteteer to earn postseason honors.

March 5, 2014


BIG EAST Release (

BIG EAST Postseason Awards (PDF)

CINCINNATI - The BIG EAST Conference released its 2014 postseason award winners and All-BIG EAST selections for women's basketball on Wednesday afternoon (March 5). Xavier freshman forward Maddison Blackwell (Gahanna, Ohio/Lincoln HS) was the lone Musketeer to earn a postseason award, earning a spot on the BIG EAST All-Freshman Team.

“The lights clicked on for Maddison about three weeks ago and she really started to look comfortable on the floor and confident in her role.” Head coach Brian Neal said. “It was a great finish to the season and we are certainly looking forward to the next steps in her development.”

The Gahanna, Ohio native scored in double figures three times during league play, highlighted by a career-high 21-point performance at Providence (Feb. 22). Blackwell, who notched a career-high 14 rebounds at Butler (Feb. 25), shot 45.7 percent from the field and averaged 6.1 points and 5.3 boards during the 18 conference games, which included shooting 44.7 percent from the floor and averaging 10.6 points and 8.4 rebounds over the last five games.

The Musketeers begin play at the 2014 BIG EAST Women's Basketball Tournament on Saturday, March 8. Xavier enters the tournament as the No. 9 seed and will face No. 8 seed Georgetown at 7:30 p.m. ET (6:30 p.m. CT) at McGrath-Phillips Arena in Chicago, Ill. The winner of Saturday's match-up will face No. 1 seed and tournament host DePaul (24-6, 15-3 BIG EAST) in the quarterfinals on Sunday, March 9 at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. Central).

Fans can follow Xavier women’s basketball on the program’s Twitter (@Xavier_WBB) and Instagram (@Xavier_WBB) accounts and on Facebook at

BIG EAST Coach of the Year
Doug Bruno, DePaul

BIG EAST Player of the Year
Marissa Janning, Creighton

BIG EAST Sixth-Man Award
Caroline Coyer, Villanova

BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year
Liz Stratman, Butler

BIG EAST Most Improved Player
Tabatha Richardson-Smith, Seton Hall

BIG EAST Sportsmanship Award
Eugeneia McPherson, St. John’s

BIG EAST Freshman of the Year
Natalie Butler, Georgetown^

All-BIG EAST First Team
Marissa Janning, Creighton^
Brittany Hrynko DePaul^
Jasmine Penny, DePaul^
Katherine Plouffe, Marquette^
Aliyyah Handford, St. John’s^
Ka-Deidre Simmons, Seton Hall
Devon Kane, Villanova

All-BIG EAST Second Team
Daress McClung, Butler
McKenzie Fujan, Creighton
Sarah Nelson, Creighton
Natalie Butler, Georgetown
Andrea White, Georgetown
Alexis Harris, Providence
Tabatha Richardson-Smith, Seton Hall

All-BIG EAST Honorable Mention
Megan Rogowski, DePaul
Liz Stratman, Butler
Amber Thompson, St. John’s

BIG EAST All-Freshman Team
Jessica January, DePaul^
Natalie Butler, Georgetown^
Faith Woodard, Georgetown^
Sarah Beal, Providence^
Jade Walker, St. John’s
Sidney Cook, Seton Hall
Maddison Blackwell, Xavier

^unanimous selection