Xavier's Tyeasha Moss Named to A-10 All-Conference Third Team

Senior Tyeasha Moss was named to the 2012 A-10 All-Conference Third Team

Senior Tyeasha Moss was named to the 2012 A-10 All-Conference Third Team

Feb. 29, 2012

Complete All-Conference Teams

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.- Senior guard Tyeasha Moss has been named to the 2012 Atlantic 10 All-Conference Third Team as announced by the conference offive Wednesday morning. Temple’s Shey Peddy has been named the 2012 Atlantic 10 Conference Women’s Basketball Player and Defensive Player of the Year, in voting conducted among the league’s 14 head coaches. Peddy is the first student-athlete to garner dual honors since fellow Owl Candice Dupree received the same two awards in 2005 and 2006.

Moss is the Musketeers' leading scorer with 13.6 ppg. (8th A-10) and her 3.3 apg. (8th A-10) and 81.3 free throw percentage (8th A-10) are second-best on the squad. She became the 23rd member of Xavier's 1,000-point club earlier this season and her 1,117 career points ranks 17th all-time. Moss also became the seventh Musketeer ever to surpass the 1,000-points, 300-rebounds, 300-assists mark (1,117-384, 301) on Feb. 26 against Massachusetts on Senior Day.

This is the first post-season honor for Moss. She was also named to the 2011-12 Preseason All-Conference Third Team.

The A-10 coaches also selected Dayton’s Andrea Hoover as the Rookie of the Year, Charlotte’s Epiphany Woodson as Sixth Player of the Year and Becca Wann of Richmond as the league’s Most Improved Player. No. 19/22 St. Bonaventure’s Jim Crowley was honored by his peers as Coach of the Year.

Peddy is joined on the All-Conference first team by Dayton’s Justine Raterman; Richmond’s Abby Oliver and St. Bonaventure’s duo of Jessica Jenkins and Megan Van Tatenhove.

The All-Conference second team consists of Charlotte’s Jennifer Hailey; Duquesne’s Wumi Agunbiade and Alex Gensler; along with Michelle Baker of Saint Joseph’s and Temple’s Kristen McCarthy.



In addition to Hoover and Woodson, the All-Conference third team includes Brittany Wilson of La Salle; Richmond’s Genevieve Okoro and Xavier’s Tyeasha Moss.

Hoover, a four-time Rookie of the Week selection, leads the league’s freshman class and is ranked second on the Dayton squad with her 10.3 points per game average, while adding 5.2 rebounds and 1.9 assists each time out. The Bellbrook, Ohio, native is joined on the All-Rookie team by fellow Flyer Ally Malott; Charlotte’s Hillary Sigmon; La Salle’s Jada Payne; and Richmond’s Liz Brown.

Crowley earns his first Conference Coach of the Year honor after guiding St. Bonaventure to a program-best 27-2 overall record and the Bonnies’ first national ranking. SBU has won 16 straight games, and finished the regular season with the best road record in the nation at 13-0. Bona became just the seventh team in A-10 history to complete a perfect league schedule, and earned the No. 1 seed at this week’s Championship. Now in his 12th season as head coach and 16th overall year at St. Bonaventure, Crowley has led the Bonnies to four straight 20-win seasons.

St. Bonaventure headlines the 12-team field at the 2012 Buick Atlantic 10 Conference Women’s Basketball Championship, to be held March 2-5 at Michael. J. Hagan ‘85 Arena on the campus of Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia. First round action commences at 11:30 am on Friday, March 2, as #8 La Salle takes on #9 Xavier before tournament host #5 Saint Joseph’s takes the floor against #12 Fordham at 2:30 pm. Seventh-seeded Duquesne will take on #10 George Washington at 5:00 pm, while #6 Charlotte and #11 Saint Louis close out the first day of competition at 7:30 pm.

First round and quarterfinal matchups can be viewed live on www.atlantic10.com, free of charge. Sunday’s semifinal contests will begin at Noon on March 4, and televised nationally on CBS Sports Network, while the title game of the 2012 A-10 Championship on Monday, March 5, will be shown live on ESPN2 and ESPN3 at 5:00 pm.