Xavier Men's, Women's Tennis Named 2014 ITA All-Academic Teams

2014 Xavier graduate Andrea Wolf was one of 12 Musketeer tennis players honored for academic success.

2014 Xavier graduate Andrea Wolf was one of 12 Musketeer tennis players honored for academic success.

July 11, 2014

CINCINNATI - Xavier's men's and women's tennis programs were named 2014 All-Academic Teams by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). Additionally, 12 Xavier student-athletes were honored individually as ITA Scholar-Athletes, including eight members of the women's tennis program.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA member program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above on a 4.00 scale. Xavier's women's program has earned this distinction each year since 2004. This marks the third straight year the men's program has been honored. The men's team also earned the honor in 2007.

The ITA Scholar-Athlete status is awarded to student-athletes who are varsity letter winners, have a GPA of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters. Xavier's men's team had four student-athletes earn the recognition, while the women's team had a BIG EAST-leading eight award winners.

The four Xavier men's honorees are redshirt sophomore Matt Bishop (Ellicott City, Md.), juniors Brian Carman (Knoxville, Tenn.) and Adam Krull (New Braunfels, Texas), and 2014 Xavier graduate Jimmy Roebker (Ft. Mitchell, Ky.). This marks the second time Carman and Krull earned the distinction and the fourth award for Roebker.

The eight Xavier women's award-winners include 2014 Xavier graduates Allyson Westling (Ft. Wright, Ky.) and Andrea Wolf (Cincinnati, Ohio), each earning the honor three times during their Xavier careers.



Seniors Lizzie Oosterbaan (Kalamazoo, Mich.) and Daniella Patton (Midland, Mich.) were also honored. This marks the second time Oosterbaan has earned the award and the third award for Patton. Junior Brooke Dennis (Cincinnati, Ohio) also earned the distinction for the second time.

Also honored were juniors Alex Brinker (Granger, Ind.), Caitlin Lawless (Highland Heights, Ohio) and sophomore Cristina Di Lorenzo (New Albany, Ohio).