Xavier Earns Third Seed, Plays Sixth Seed Dayton In Atlantic 10 First Round

The Musketeers are looking to claim their third-straight league championship.

The Musketeers are looking to claim their third-straight league championship.

Nov. 4, 2012

2012 A-10 Championship BracketGet Acrobat Reader

CINCINNATI - The No. 17/15 Xavier men's soccer team has earned the third seed in next week's Atlantic 10 Championship and will play six-seed Dayton in the first round at 2 p.m. on Thursday at Transamerica Field in Charlotte, N.C.

This will be the second meeting between the Musketeers (13-1-4, 6-1-2 A-10) and the Flyers (11-5-1, 5-3-1 A-10) this season. Xavier lost a 2-0 lead and settled for a draw against Dayton in its regular-season match on Oct. 12 at home.

It will be the 41st meeting between the two clubs and the first in postseason action.

On the same side of the bracket with Xavier is the two-seed Saint Louis (13-4-0, 7-2-0 A-10) and seven-seed La Salle (10-6-3, 4-4-1 A-10) match which will be played at 11 a.m.

Host team Charlotte (13-2-3, 7-1-1 A-10) earned the top seed and will play eight-seed Duquesne (7-11-1, 4-4-1 A-10) at 8 p.m. VCU (10-2-5, 6-1-2) captured the fourth seed and will play fifth-seed Temple (10-5-3, 6-1-2 A-10) at 5 p.m.

Xavier was awarded the third-seed for the second time in program history after finishing with identical league records with VCU and Temple. The tie breaker came down to points against common conference opponents. The Musketeers' wins over Butler and Saint Louis in the opening weekend of league play were the difference.

The Musketeers played against four of the other seven teams in the newly expanded eight-team tournament. Xavier went 1-1-2 in matches against Saint Louis, VCU, Dayton and Duquesne.

Xavier is seeking its third-straight Atlantic 10 Tournament Championships.

The Musketeers won their first title in 2010 as the number six seed behind the outstanding goalkeeping of Justin Marshall who made 21 saves over three matches. Xavier avenged a regular season loss to La Salle to take their first title.

Xavier also earned the six-seed last year and beat the top three seeds for the second year in a row to win back-to-back titles. The Musketeers defeated George Washington on penalty kicks to earn the championship.