Xavier Men's Basketball Squad Picked Second In Atlantic 10 Conference Preseason Poll

Senior Danté Jackson was selected to the preseason Atlantic 10 All-Defensive Team.

Senior Danté Jackson was selected to the preseason Atlantic 10 All-Defensive Team.

Oct. 21, 2010


Atlantic 10 Preseason Poll and Teams Get Acrobat Reader

NEW YORK CITY - The Xavier University Musketeers, the four-time defending regular season Atlantic 10 Conference Champions, were picked to finish second to Temple in the 2010-11 season in a preseason vote among league coaches and media. The poll results were announced today during Atlantic 10 Conference Media Day, which is being held at CBS College Sports Network studios.

Xavier has won at least a share of four straight Atlantic 10 Conference Regular Season Championships. XU, 14-2 last season, tied Temple for the top spot in 2010. Massachusetts holds the A-10 record with five straight overall regular season titles from 1992-96 and is the only team other than Xavier that has shared or had the best overall A-10 record more than four years in a row.

Xavier second-year head coach Chris Mack has three starters back from last year's team that reached the NCAA Tournament Sweet 16, including seniors Jamel McLean and Danté Jackson as well as junior Tu Holloway. Holloway was named to the preseason All-Atlantic 10 Second Team, while Jackson was named to the preseason Atlantic 10 All-Defensive Team. Freshman Jordan Latham was honored as well as a preseason A-10 All-Rookie Team selesction.

Holloway is a nominee for the Bob Cousy Award, which is given annually to the nation's best collegiate point guard. Holloway finished second on the team in scoring (12.1 ppg) as a sophomore and led the team in assists (3.9 apg), including a 26-point, six-assist game against Kansas State in the NCAA Tournament West Region Semifinals.

Xavier is shooting to continue its run of success in the Atlantic 10 Conference and the NCAA Tournament. In 2010, Xavier made its fifth straight NCAA Tournament appearance and its ninth in the last 10 years, including the NCAA Sweet 16 in 2010 and 2009 and NCAA Elite Eight appearances in 2008 and 2004. Xavier and Michigan State are the only teams in all of NCAA Division I that have made the Sweet 16 in each of the last three NCAA Tournaments.