Holloway Named to All-Jesuit Team

Holloway receives more recognition following his performance this past season.

Holloway receives more recognition following his performance this past season.

May 2, 2011

CINCINNATI - The Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities and the Jesuit Basketball Spotlight announced that Xavier junior guard Tu Holloway was named to the 2010-11 National All-Jesuit Men's Basketball Team. This marks the tenth post-season honor for Holloway following his stellar performance during the 2010-11 season.

Holloway, an AP Third-Team All-American and the 2010-11 Atlantic 10 Conference Player of the Year, had previously been named 2010-11 Third Team All-American by Sporting News, Basketball Times, SI.com, CBSSports.com and FOXSports.com. In addition, he was selected to the 2010-11 Lute Olson All-America team (collegeinsider.com) and Lefty Driesell Defensive All-America team (collegeinsider.com).

Holloway led Xavier and was among the A-10 leaders this season in scoring (19.7 ppg.), assists (5.4 apg.), steals (1.4 spg.) and free throw percentage (.870). In addition, the 6-0 Holloway grabbed 5.0 rebounds per game.

Holloway's spectacular season included posting two triple-doubles and scoring his 1,000th career point on his way to reaching 26th on Xavier's all-time scoring list. Against Richmond on Jan. 29, Holloway broke the Xavier single-game free throw percentage mark with a 17-for-17 performance. Holloway also set the single season XU marks for free throws made (235) and free throws attempted (270), records that were previously held by 2003 National Player of the Year David West.

Xavier, 24-8 overall and ranked No. 20 in the final Associated Press Poll, earned its sixth straight trip to the NCAA Tournament and its 10th NCAA berth in 11 years. XU won the Atlantic 10 Conference Regular Season Championship outright at 15-1, marking the fifth straight year that Xavier has won at least a share of the A-10 Regular Season Championship.

Joining Holloway on the All-Jesuit Team were Austin Freeman (Georgetown), Chris Wright (Georgetown), Zach Ashworth (Scranton), Ryan Brock (Loyola New Orleans), Kevin Foster (Santa Clara), Reggie Jackson (Boston College), Darius Johnson-Odom (Marquette), Doug McDermott (Creighton), and Derek Needham (Fairfield). In addition to facing Marquette's Darius Johnson-Odom, Xavier faced three players named Honorable Mention: Jimmy Butler (Marquette), Steven Gray (Gonzaga), and Robert Sacre (Gonzaga).



About the All-Jesuit Team

The All-Jesuit Team represents student athletes from the 28 Jesuit colleges spread across the United States that play basketball on all three levels of the NCAA and also in the NAIA. They share the mission of Jesuit education, founded nearly 500 years ago under the principles of St. Ignatius Loyola to educate young people to become men and women dedicated to service and compassionate leadership. Students at Jesuit colleges have long excelled in the classroom and in the community, but they also have played a major role in collegiate basketball in the last 100 years.