Three Men's Basketball Players Earn All-Atlantic 10 Conference Honors

Senior Tu Holloway was named to the A-10 First Team.

Senior Tu Holloway was named to the A-10 First Team.

March 5, 2012

CINCINNATI --- The Atlantic 10 Conference announced today that three Xavier men’s basketball student-athletes have earned 2012 All-Atlantic 10 Conference honors. Senior Tu Holloway is on the A-10 First Team, junior Mark Lyons is on the A-10 Third Team and freshman Dezmine Wells is on the A-10 All-Rookie Team. The complete list of all the award winners is at the end of this release.

Holloway leads Xavier in scoring (fifth in the A-10 at 16.7 ppg.), assists (fourth in the A-10 at 5.4 apg.), steals (eighth in the A-10 at 1.6 spg.) and free throw percentage (third in the A-10 at .864). Holloway is the only player in the Atlantic 10 that is ranked in the top five in scoring and assists.

Lyons is second on the team in scoring at 15.7 ppg. and ranks ninth in the conference. Lyons is second on the team in assists (2.8 apg.), steals (1.4 spg.) and free throw percentage (.770).

Wells is third on the team in both scoring (10.1 ppg.) and rebounding (5.1 rpg.). Wells is the first XU player to earn A-10 All-Rookie honors since Derrick Brown in the 2007 season. Brown is now playing with the NBA’s Charlotte Bobcats.

Xavier finished the regular season with a 19-11 overall record, including a 10-6 Atlantic 10 Conference record. XU earned the No. 3 seed and a first round bye in the upcoming Atlantic 10 Championship in Atlantic City, N.J. XU will play its first game at 9 p.m. on Friday against the winner of the Dayton-George Washington first round game. The UD-GW game will be played Tuesday in Dayton.  

Coach of the Year
Fran Dunphy, Temple 

Player of the Year
Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure 



Defensive Player of the Year
C.J. Aiken, Saint Joseph’s 

Rookie of the Year
Kendall Anthony, Richmond

Sixth Man of the Year
Ronald Roberts, Saint Joseph’s 

Chris Daniels Most Improved Player
Earl Pettis, La Salle

First Team All-Conference
Chaz Williams, Massachusetts
Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure
Brian Conklin, Saint Louis
Ramone Moore, Temple
Tu Holloway, Xavier

Second Team All-Conference
Kevin Dillard, Dayton
Chris Gaston, Fordham
Ramon Galloway, La Salle
Langston Galloway, Saint Joseph’s
Khalif Wyatt, Temple 

Third Team All-Conference
Chris Braswell, Charlotte
T.J. McConnell, Duquesne
Kwamain Mitchell, Saint Louis
Juan Fernandez, Temple
Mark Lyons, Xavier 

All-Conference Honorable Mention
Chris Johnson, Dayton
Earl Pettis, La Salle
Carl Jones, Saint Joseph’s
Halil Kanacevic, Saint Joseph’s 

All-Academic Team
Luke Fabrizius, Dayton
Nemanja Mikic, George Washington
Brian Conklin, Saint Louis
Kyle Cassity, Saint Louis
Juan Fernandez, Temple 

All-Defensive Team
T.J. McConnell, Duquesne
Darrius Garrett, Richmond
Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure
C.J. Aiken, Saint Joseph’s
Jordair Jett, Saint Louis

All-Rookie Team
Pierria Henry, Charlotte
Jarrell Wright, La Salle
Jonathan Holton, Rhode Island
Kendall Anthony, Richmond
Dezmine Wells, Xavier