Six Musketeers Earn All-Conference Awards

Junior Phil Bauer was one of two Musketeers named to the A-10 Academic All-Conference Team

Junior Phil Bauer was one of two Musketeers named to the A-10 Academic All-Conference Team

May 25, 2010

2010 A-10 All-Conference Teams

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - Six members of the Xavier baseball team have been named to Atlantic 10 All-Conference teams as announced by the league office on Tuesday. Senior outfielder Bobby Freking and junior first baseman Ben Thomas each earned First Team accolades and freshmen starting pitcher Jon Richard and relief pitcher Seth Willoughby were named to the All-Rookie team. Juniors shortstop Phil Bauer and outfielder John McCambridge were voted on to the Academic All-Conference Team as well.

Senior shortstop Tom Zebroski of George Washington has been named the Atlantic 10 Baseball Player of the Year in voting conducted among the league's head coaches. Tim Boyce, a starting righthander from Rhode Island, earned Atlantic 10 Pitcher of the Year honors and freshman pitcher Alex Alemann of Saint Louis was named Rookie of the Year. In that same vote, La Salle's Mike Lake was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Additionally, Zebroski was named Student-Athlete of the Year in voting among the Conference's sports information directors.

Zebroski earns Player of the Year honors after leading the A-10 in batting average (.429), hits (103), runs (75), home runs (18), total bases (176) and slugging percentage (.733). The Port Washington, N.Y., resident ranks second in the conference with a .487 on-base percentage and sixth in RBI (58). Moreover he ranks third nationally in hits and was just one hit shy of breaking the A-10's single-season record.

During his four-year career at GW, Zebroski has been equally as successful in the classroom. The senior earned the league's Student-Athlete of the Year award with his 3.46 grade point average as a Communications major and was recently tabbed an ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District II first-team selection. Zebroski was also the university's 2010 recipient of the J. Dallas Shirley Outstanding Senior Male Athlete Award.



Boyce enters this week's Championship (May 26-29) having pitched 34 straight scoreless innings, marking the longest streak in Division I baseball. The Swansea, Mass., native was twice named National Pitcher of the Week and garnered A-10 Pitcher of the Week honors three times this spring. Boyce has posted a 3.63 ERA and 5-3 overall record in his 94.1 innings of work, including 84 strikeouts, four complete games and an A-10 best three shutouts. Additionally, he has limited batters to a league-best .263 average.

Joining Zebroski and Boyce on the All-Conference first-team are Corey Shaylor, Justin Wilson and Patrick Lawson of Charlotte; Dayton's Brian Blasik; Duquesne's Andrew Heck; Fordham's Chris Walker; George Washington's Eric Cantrell; Jon Myers of Saint Louis; and Xavier's Freking and Thomas.

The All-Conference second-team consists of Fordham's Max Krakowiak; George Washington's Brendon Kelliher; La Salle's Brendan Norton; Eric Fredette of Massachusetts; Rhode Island's Tom Couloumbe and Gardner Leaver; Richmond's Billy Barber and Chris Cowell; St. Bonaventure's Jesse Bosnik; Dewey Oriente of Saint Joseph's; and Danny Brock and Bryant Cotton of Saint Louis.

Alemann enjoyed an excellent first year on the mound for Saint Louis. The righthander from Weston, Fla., tossed six complete games and picked up eight wins on the season, putting him in a four-way tie for most victories in the A-10. Alemann fanned 66 batters during the regular season, including a career-high nine in a crucial win over Dayton on May 21, and his 2.93 ERA in Conference play was tops on the team.

The All-Rookie team includes Alemann; Charlotte's Justin Roland and Corey Roberts; Dayton's Joe Gayda; La Salle's Pat Christensen; Ryan Cusick of Massachusetts; St. Bonaventure's Billy Urban; and Xavier's J. Richard and Willoughby.

Joining Zebroski on the Academic All-Conference Team are Ryan Rivers and Cory Tilton of Charlotte; Anthony DeFabio of Duquesne; George Washington's Curtis Eward; La Salle's Brendan Norton; Mike Donato of Massachusetts; Rhode Island's Oliver Palmer; and Bauer and McCambridge of Xavier.

Lake earns Coach of the Year honors after guiding La Salle to a 14-13 record in Conference play (21-30 overall) and the sixth seed in the upcoming A-10 Baseball Championship, marking just the second time that the Explorers have qualified for postseason play since joining the league in 1995-96. Since Lake took over the program in June 2007, La Salle has shown steady improvement in wins, as well as statistical categories such as batting average, hits, RBIs, runs scored and fielding percentage. Lake is a 1982 graduate of La Salle and served as the top assistant coach for four years before getting the head job.