College Sports Madness Awards Three Musketeers With Postseason Honors

Derek Hasenbeck was named to the CSM All-Conference Second Team.

Derek Hasenbeck was named to the CSM All-Conference Second Team.

May 20, 2014

CINCINNATI - College Sports Madness has named Vinny Nittoli and Daniel Rizzie to its BIG EAST All-Conference First Team and Derek Hasenbeck to the second team. All three Musketeers earned the same accolades from the conference earlier this week.

Nittoli, a right-handed pitcher who also sees time in the outfield, ranks among the conference and national leaders in ERA (2.07). He holds a 5-3 record with 59 strikeouts and has issued just 16 walks this year. At the plate, Nittoli is batting .273 with 19 RBIs and 16 runs.

First-team honors were also bestowed to Rizzie, who anchors Xavier's infield from his catcher position. Xavier leads the BIG EAST in stolen-bases against thanks to the sophomore's prowess behind the plate. Opponents have completed just 45-of-68 stolen-base attempts against Rizzie. He leads the Musketeers with 37 runs scored and has a .309 batting average with 32 RBIs.

Hasenbeck has spent most of the season as Xavier's designated hitter, while also spending time at first base and behind the plate. He holds a .305 batting average with 26 RBIs and 33 runs scored. Hasenbeck has also belted a team-high six homeruns.

Xavier's season continues at the BIG EAST Baseball Championship presented by New York Life. The Musketeers face the Creighton Bluejays in the opening round of the tournament in Brooklyn, N.Y., at 4 p.m. on Thursday, May 22.

College Sports Madness 2014 BIG EAST All-Conference Teams
Field Player of the Year - Reagan Fowler, Creighton
Pitcher of the Year - Josh Prevost, Seton Hall
Freshman of the Year - Michael Donadio, St. John's
Coach of the Year - Ed Servais, Creighton

First Team
P Matt Warren, Creighton
P Josh Prevost, Seton Hall
P Vinny Nittoli, Xavier
IF Robbie Knightes, St. John's
IF Sal Annunziata, Seton Hall
IF Reagan Fowler, Creighton
IF D.J. Ruhlman, Seton Hall
IF Daniel Rizzie, Xavier
OF Mike Gerber, Creighton
OF Michael Donadio, St. John's
OF Derek Jenkins, Seton Hall
UTIL Nick Collins, Georgetown



Second Team
P Luke Cahill, Seton Hall
P James Lomangino, St. John's
P Anthony Elia, Seton Hall
IF Kyle Grimm, Seton Hall
IF Derek Hasenbeck, Xavier
IF Jake Peter, Creighton
IF Todd Czinege, Villanova
IF Steve Anderson, Georgetown
OF Connor Jones, Villanova
OF Marcos Calderon, Butler
OF Zach Lauricella, St. John's
UTIL Max Beerman, Villanova