Men's and Women's Cross Country Set to Compete at All-Ohio Championship

Head Coach Ryan Orner is optimistic about this weekend's race.

Head Coach Ryan Orner is optimistic about this weekend's race.

Sept. 28, 2012

Live Stream

Post Race Stats

CINCINNATI- The men's and women's cross country teams are set to compete at the All-Ohio Championship coming off their two week hiatus from competition. The women will run in a 5K race while the men will participate in an 8K race at the Elvin R. King Cross Country Course in Cedarville.

The women performed very well in last year's race with an overall finish of 4th out of fifteen teams. Juniors Clare Fischer and Abby Fischer were the top finishers in last year's race, finishing with times of 18:40.66 and 18:43.46, respectively. Other finishers for the women included senior captains Rachel Clark (18:54.55) and Kaitlin Price (19:06.31), as well as juniors Anna Ahlrichs and Ashley Vincent.

The men's side returns five of the seven finishers from last year's 11th place finish out of forty-five, all of whom are scheduled to run on Saturday. Last year, Tom Ohlman was the top finisher for the Musketeers with his time of 25:32.66, good for 14th place. He was followed by senior Ben Foley who placed 21st with a time of 25:40.51. The other finishers for the Musketeers included junior Chris Hanson (27:21.69), sophomore Corey Zielinski (27:32.35), and senior Matt Coniglio (28:03.33).



Head coach Ryan Orner expressed optimism earlier this week when asked about this weekend's race. "This is going to be a good meet. This year we are looking at some great teams for the top 2-3 spots. On the men's side four of the top fifteen teams in the Great Lakes region will be racing with Ohio State currently ranked 5th behind powerhouse Michigan. On the women's side we will be facing five of the top fifteen teams in the Great Lakes region including Toledo and Ohio University who are both in the top ten. "

Expected to run in the women's race for the Musketeers, along with Clare and Abby Fischer, Ahlrichs, and Price are: senior Calesse Cardosi, juniors Jessica Albers, Chelsea Hoffmaster and Madison Riethman, sophomores Emily Kuhn, Carrie Kurish and Audrey Ramos, and freshmen Victoria Ciotti, Sarah Mazzei, and Emily Wolery.

Expected to run for the men on Saturday along with Foley, Coniglio, Ohlman, Hanson and Zielinski are: senior captain Hank Geer, juniors Nick Kobunski, Spencer Liechty, and Keith Schenkel, sophomores Connor Buchholz, Aaron Moore, and Matt Orlando, and freshman Austin Winter.

The women start things off at 2:00 pm while the men follow soon after at 2:45 pm.