NCAA Awards Seven Xavier Programs for Academic Excellence

Head Cross Country and Track & Field Coach Steve Nester directs three of the seven XU programs recognized.
Head Cross Country and Track & Field Coach Steve Nester directs three of the seven XU programs recognized.

April 22, 2009

CINCINNATI - The NCAA has recognized seven Xavier athletics programs with Public Recognition Awards for academic excellence. The award is given to the top-ten percent of teams in each sport based on the NCAA Academic Progress Rate. The APR is a term-by-term progress for every student-athlete in Division I athletics.

Xavier programs receiving acknowledgment include: men's swimming, men's tennis, women's cross country, women's swimming, women's tennis, women's indoor track and women's outdoor track.

The 767 teams receiving awards this year represent 205 Division I colleges and universities, or two-thirds of the 331 institutions that compete in NCAA Division I athletics. High-performing teams receiving awards posted APR scores ranging from 976 to a perfect 1,000, said NCAA president Myles Brand.

Xavier's seven total teams being recognized was bested by only Dayton (8) in the Atlantic 10. Among conferences, only the Big East (14) had more institutions with at least one program recognized than the A-10's (13).

Background on APP Public Recognition Awards

The NCAA is honoring NCAA Division I sports teams with public recognition awards for their latest multiyear NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate (APR). These teams posted multiyear APRs in the top 10 percent of all squads in their respective sports. The public recognition awards are part of the broad Division I academic reform effort.

The APR provides a real-time look at a team's academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete. The APR includes eligibility, retention and graduation in the calculation and provides a clear picture of the academic culture in each sport.

Multiyear APRs for all Division I sports teams, including the teams receiving public recognition awards, will be announced Wednesday, May 6. The announcement also will include immediate and historical penalties for low-performing teams.