Cross Country Competes At NCAA Pre-National Invitational

Howell took the women's top spot for the third time this year.

Howell took the women's top spot for the third time this year.

Oct. 16, 2011

TERRA HAUTE, Ind. - Running against some of the top teams in the nation the Xavier cross country teams had strong individual performances at the NCAA Pre-National Invitational on Sunday at the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course.

For the second-straight race senior Caylin Howell and sophomore Tom Ohlman were the top finishers for the Musketeers. Howell guided the women's team to a 25th finish, while the men's team finished 28th behind Ohlman's performance.

Howell topped the list of women's runners for Xavier for the third time this year. In the first 6-kilometer race this year she finished 96th overall and clocked a 22:29 finish. Sophomore Ashley Vincent took the next Xavier slot, running a 22:58 that was good for 131st place.

Clare Fischer continued her strong sophomore campaign marking a time of 23:04, a 6K personal best, for the 140th spot. Junior Kaitlin Price followed in 170th with a time of 23:29 and junior Rachel Clark (23:35) rounded out the Musketeers' scoring group in 177th place.

Freshman Audrey Ramos, running in her first 6K, took 194th with a time of 23:45. Sophomore Abby Fischer (23:56) was Xavier's seventh finisher in 212nd.

Junior Calesse Cardosi (218th/23:58), redshirt freshman Chelsea Hoffmaster (244th/24:19), sophomore Jessica Albers (264th/24:40), and senior Micayla McGinn (294th/26:02) also competed for the women's team.



Ohlman placed 85th with his time of 25:36. It was the third time this year that he has been the top men's finisher. In 105th place was senior Keith Albrektson with his time personal-best time of 25:46. Xavier's third finisher was redshirt junior Ben Foley with his time of 26:15 in 161st place.

Junior Matt Coniglio returned to form as he clocked a 26:58 and grabbed 220th place. Closing out the scoring runner was freshman Connor Buchholz who finished 257th and bested his personal best time (27:26) by one second.

In consecutive spots behind Buccholz were redshirt senior Ben Nathan (258th/27:30) and sophomore Keith Schenkel (259th/27:32). Freshman Corey Zielinski (281st/28:10), sophomore Chris Hanson (292nd/29:13), and sophomore Spencer Liechty (295th/29:33) also competed for the Musketeers.

The teams take another two break leading up to the Atlantic 10 Championship on Oct. 29 in Charlotte, N.C.

Florida State took the team title and UTEP's Risper Kimaiyo (20:19) took the individual title in the women's race. Colorado won the team title and Iona's Leonard Korir(23:55) won the men's individual race.